23.4 C
Saturday, July 31, 2021

NCIC summons 10 politicians over poll violence

Must read

The National Cohesion and Integration Commission-NCIC has summoned 10 politicians to record statements with the commission for allegedly propagating hate and division in the just concluded by elections.   

According to NCIC, MPs Aisha Jumwa (Malindi), Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini), Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East), Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay), Faisal Badera (Msambweni), John Waluke (Sirisia), Fred Kapondi (Webuye), Ong’ondo Were (Kasipul), Millicent Omanga (nominated) and Cleophas Malala (Kakamega) are required to record statements on Monday next week.

NCIC Chair Dr Samuel Kobia said that the Commission has recommended to the Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (EACC) to seek a legal mandate from the Judiciary to remove from office leaders who violate Chapter Six of the constitution.

“These summons do not just indicate our intention to investigate and prosecute but rather also indicate the plan of the Commission to stop the unethical from occupying office,” said Kobia.

Kobia further asked the Directorate of Criminal Investigations to probe and blacklist such political leaders to ensure that they never attain a certificate of good conduct.

“We will ensure the purveyors of hate and ethnic contempt are in jail, and as they wait to go to jail, we will put them out of the leadership of this country and ensure they never run again in this country,” Kobia.

NCIC has further written to the Registrar of Political Parties requesting that various political parties initiate disciplinary action against their rogue members.

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei and MPs Didmas Barasa (Kimilili), Wilson Kogo (Chemusei), and Nelson Koech (Belgut) were not included in the list because their matter is in court.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img