22.2 C
Monday, December 6, 2021

Panel shortlists 36 for IEBC commissioner jobs

By The Frontier Post Reporter

Must read

The Selection Panel for the appointment of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission -IEBC commissioners has shortlisted and published the names of the 36 individuals from a pool of 660 applicants who had expressed interest in the positions.

In a statement the panel has also published the date for the psychometric test and the respective oral interview dates.

“All shortlisted applicants are required to undertake a psychometric test on Wednesday, 30th June, 2021 at 11.00 am at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre, Nairobi,” read the statement.

Adding that: “The shortlisted applicants for the psychometric test are required to bring with them their original national identity card or passport while for the oral interviews, shortlisted applicants are required to bring with them their original national identity card or passport and the originals of their testimonials and/or certificates.”

Both the psychometric test and oral interviews shall be conducted in public at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre – KICC, Nairobi.

“While considering the applications, the Selection Panel observed that  many qualified Kenyans expressed interest in the position of IEBC commissioner,” said the panel’s chair, Dr Elizabeth Muli.

“The panel takes this opportunity to thank Kenyans who expressed interest to serve Kenya in this capacity. The desire to serve your country is an act of patriotism,” she added in a statement accompanying the shortlist.

Following the shortlisting, Dr Muli, said, the public has until June 25 to submit memoranda on the suitability of the 36 candidates to serve as commissioners.

Psychometric tests will follow from 11am on June 30, the KICC in Nairobi, whereas oral interviews will take place from July 7 to 22.

Two former chairs of the national rights commission, current and former electoral agency staff, commissioners and lawyers are among those in the shortlist.

Ms Kagwiria Mbogori, the former chairperson of the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR) and her predecessor, Florence Simbiri-Jaoko, on in the list.

The shortlist also has Murshid Abdalla Mohammed, who served in the inaugural National Police service Commission.

He previously served as commissioner with the Interim Independent Boundaries Review Commission (IIBRC).

Dr Catherine Muchiru Kamindo, the acting director for research and boundaries at the IEBC, has also been shortlisted, as well as her colleague Naisiae Paloshe Tobiko, who is the manager for commission services.

There is also IEBC’s former director in charge of human resource colleague, Sellestine Kiuluku.

The lawyers in the list include former Law Society of Kenya Vice President Harriette Chiggai, Justus Munyithya, Roseline Odede and former Gwassi MP Felix Nyauchi.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img