22.2 C
Monday, December 6, 2021

UK adds Kenya to its travel ban ‘red list’

By The Frontier Post Reporter

Must read

The British High Commission has informed Kenya of plans to add Kenya to its Covid-19- related quarantine ‘red list’.

The United Kingdom government said the difficult decision was taken by UK Ministers on March 31 following a review of the latest scientific evidence pertaining to the risk of community transmission of Covid- 19 variants.

Travelers from all countries are required to take Covid-19 tests on Days 2 and 8 following their arrival in the UK.

Of the average of 550 people that travel from Kenya to the UK each week, a significant number are testing positive on Day 2.

“It is the UK government’s intention to maintain direct flights in light of the critical importance of ensuring trade and commercial links between the UK and Kenya. Nearly a third of those testing positive have been carrying the B.1.351 variant, which originated in South Africa,” the statement added.

According to the Guardian paper in UK, Kenya alongside Bangladesh, Pakistan and the Philippines will be added to England’s so-called “red list” as of 4 am Friday 9 April.

However, there is an exception made for British or Irish passport holders, or people with UK residence rights.

But they must first pay to quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

The Boris Johnson’s administration charged that there will be no direct flight bans from the four countries will be put in place, but passengers are advised to check their travel plans before departing for England.

Under the current rules, foreign travel from the UK is banned apart from for exceptional reasons.

The earliest date people from England will be able to travel abroad for a holiday is 17 May, when the government hopes to move to step three of its lockdown exit plan.

The British government in an update said people who have been in or through any of the countries on the red list in the previous 10 days will be refused entry to the UK.

British or Irish nationals and those who have residence rights in the UK will be able to enter but must quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

Countries subject to the ban include Angola, Argentina, Bangladesh (from 4 am Friday 9 April), Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana and Kenya (from 4 am Friday 9 April).

Other are, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Oman, Pakistan (from 4 am Friday 9 April), Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines from 4 am Friday 9 April), Qatar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Pursuant to this decision, only British nationals, Irish nationals, and third-country nationals with residence rights in the UK will be permitted to travel to the UK.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img