22.2 C
Monday, December 6, 2021

Who will be the next Chief Justice?

By The Frontier Post Reporter

Must read

Judicial Service Commission (JSC) will vet 10 candidates shortlisted for the position of Chief Justice between April 12 and April 23.

In the released interview schedule JSC will grill one candidate each day.

The ten candidates cleared for interviews are Justice Said Chitembwe, Prof. Patricia Mbote, Justice Martha Koome, Justice Marete Njagi, Philip Murgor, Justice Nduma Nderi, Fred Ngatia, Justice William Ouko, Prof Wekesa Moni and Alice Yano.

The shortlisting of the ten candidates left out three candidates who had applied for the job. They included Prof Otinga Mare, Otondi Ontweka and Brian Matagaro.

All the current Supreme Court judges including acting Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu kept off the race to replace former Chief Justice David Maraga.

The JSC has also announced a similar schedule for nine others for the position of Supreme Court judge to be held between April 26 and 30.

Those shortlisted are Justice Said Chitembwe, Lady Justice Martha Koome, Justice M’inoti Kathurima, Justice Nduma Nderi, Lumumba Nyaberi, Justice William Ouko, Justice Joseph Sergon, Justice Marete Njagi, and Alice Yano.

The Commission will interview the shortlisted persons before recommending a candidate for appointment by the President subject to approval by the National Assembly as provided for under Article 166 (1) of the Constitution.

The positions fell vacant following the retirement of Chief Justice David Maraga and Justice Jackton Boma Ojwang.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img